Shipping rates: $5.99
Use code: ARMED for 10% off
We're famous for our insanely fast shipping! Orders ship in 24 hours or less!
Critical information every gun owner should know, including:
- WHERE YOU CAN AND CANNOT POSSESS A FIREARM?
- WHEN YOU CAN LEGALLY USE A FIREARM?
- NUMEROUS EXAMPLES OF HOW GUN LAWS IMPACT REAL LIVES.
- CLEAR EXPLANATIONS THAT SEPARATE MYTH FROM REALITY.
- PRACTICAL INFORMATION REGARDING HOW TO STAY OUT OF TROUBLE.
- PLUS MUCH, MUCH MORE...
Written by experienced attorneys in easy-to-understand language
CAN I BE SUED IF I SHOOT SOMEONE IN SELF-DEFENSE?
No immunity from lawsuits
There is a common misunderstanding that there exists a law that if you are legally justified in using your gun that you can’t be sued. This is just not the case. First, if a person has the filing fee, anyone can sue anyone else in the State of Oklahoma. There is no one stopping anyone else from filing a lawsuit. Winning a lawsuit is a different issue entirely. If someone files the lawsuit, no matter how frivolous, it still must be dealt with, and it still must be shown to the court that there is a defense that bars this lawsuit. This process can take significant time, money, and legal energy even for the most frivolous cases. In short, lawyers will need to be paid and even if you beat the “rap,” you still have to take the civil “ride.” So, if there is no immunity to lawsuits for gun owners, what protection is there?
IF MY CHILD GAINS ACCESS TO MY FIREARM, AM I IN TROUBLE?
Criminal liability for allowing a minor access to firearms
In Oklahoma, 21 O.S. § 1273(B) says that a parent or guardian shall be guilty of a crime if he or she intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly permits a child (younger than 18) to possess any of the arms or weapons designated in § 1272, if such parent is aware of a substantial risk that the child will use the weapon to commit a criminal offense. Upon a first conviction the offending party shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and the party offending shall be punished by a fine of not less than One Hundred Dollars ($100) nor more than Two Hundred Fifty Dollars ($250), or by imprisonment in the county jail for a period not to exceed thirty (30) days or both such fine and imprisonment. On the second and every subsequent violation, the party offending shall, upon conviction, be punished by a fine of not less than Two Hundred Fifty Dollars ($250) nor more than Five Hundred Dollars ($500), or by imprisonment in the county jail for a period not less than thirty (30) days nor more than three (3) months, or by both such fine and imprisonment. Additionally, a person who violates Section 1273 shall be liable for civil damages for any injury or death to any person and for any damage to property.
DO IMMUNITY STATUTES REALLY WORK?
Immunity for certain claims
The Oklahoma law of immunity from criminal prosecution or civil action, is an absolute defense. This statute does not prevent lawsuits; it just makes the ones filed harder to win. Immunity from civil action is an affirmative defense, but it is brought before trial as a pre-trial motion, so you are saved some of the pain a civil suit may cause an innocent defendant. So how does an innocent defendant invoke the statutory immunity of § 1289.25(F)?
CAN I BE CHARGED WITH A CRIME FOR SHOOTING A DOG BEFORE IT BITES ME?
No general defense against animals statute
Oklahoma has no general self-defense or defense of others statute that deals with animals. There exist statutes that authorize conduct against dogs and cats and statutes for protection of domestic animals, and livestock, but there is no statutory justification for protecting people against animal attacks. For example, if someone was charged with cruelty to animals under the Oklahoma statute provided below, there is no available statute that provides a legal justification if their actions were taken in self-defense. Luckily, the Oklahoma courts have fashioned a doctrine of self-defense against animal attacks from the case of Grizzle v. State, 707 P.2d 1210, (Okla. Crim. App. 1985)
IF YOU OWN A GUN, IT COULD HAPPEN TO YOU!
Every day, gun owners across Oklahoma must use their firearm in self-defense. As a law-abiding gun owner in Oklahoma, you or a loved one could become a victim of crime -- anywhere. After speaking with gun owners all over the state, we found that they lacked the critical knowledge of law they’d require if forced to use their weapon. It’s our mission to change that.
As an organization of more than 180,000 law-abiding gun owners, we’ve seen time and time again that even the best intentioned, law abiding gun owner can end up in serious legal trouble. We’ve seen members go to jail for breaking laws they didn’t know existed. We’ve seen members get arrested for laws that don’t exist. If you own a gun, you absolutely need Oklahoma Gun Law: Armed And Educated. This is the most comprehensive and understandable resource for Oklahoma gun law. Don’t settle for anything less.